top of page

Guide to Black Harlem 2022

Updated: Nov 22, 2022


Supporting Harlem and supporting Black business is not a trend and will never go out of style. Here’s your Black Harlem guide to taste, hear, see, shop and EXPERIENCE Harlem in 2022.  You can support in multiple categories: arts & culture, clothing and accessories, food and drink, fitness, gift shops and more. 


Experience Harlem has always celebrated and highlighted black-owned businesses. Like, love, & share this listing with your fellow Harlemites.

SEE


Galleries


Essie Green Galleries 419A Convent Ave 212 368 9635 www.essiegreengalleries.com


Hamilton Landmark Galleries 467 W 144th St 212 281 7667 www.harlemaa.org


Rio II Gallery 583 Riverside Dr, 7th Fl 212 568 2030 www.bhc.org/art/rio2


The Long Gallery 2073 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 646 559 8368 www.long.gallery


Kente Royal Gallery 2373 Adam Clayton Powell Jr Blvd 347 421 2006 www.kenteroyalgallery.com

Historic Landmarks


Duke Ellington Memorial 110th St & 5th Ave 212 310 6600 www.nycgovparks.org


Frederick Douglass Memorial 110th St & Frederick Douglass Blvd www.nycgovparks.org


Hamilton Heights Historic District 142nd – 145th Sts, Amsterdam – St Nicholas Aves


Mount Morris Park Historic District 119th – 124th Sts, Lenox Ave – Mount Morris Park W www.mmpcia.org


Strivers’ Row 138th – 139th Sts btwn Adam Clayton Powell, Jr & Frederick Douglass Blvds


Swing Low: Harriett Tubman Memorial 121st St at Frederick Douglass Blvd & St Nicholas Ave

Museums/Cultural Institutions


Audubon Ballroom Malcolm X and Dr. Betty Shabazz Memorial and Educational Center 3940 Broadway

212 568 1341 www.theshabazzcenter.net


El Museo del Barrio 1230 5th Ave 212 831 7272 www.elmuseo.org


Harlem School of the Arts 645 St Nicholas Ave 212 926 4100 www.harlemschoolofthearts.org


Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture 515 Lenox Ave 212 491 2200 www.nypl.org


Studio Museum in Harlem (temporarily closed during construction) 144 W 125th St 212 864 4500 www.studiomuseum.org


Sugar Hill Children’s Museum of Art & Storytelling 898 St Nicholas Ave 212 335 0004 www.sugarhillmuseum.org


The National Jazz Museum in Harlem 58 W 129th St 212 348 8300 www.jazzmuseuminharlem.org

Performance


Aaron Davis Hall The City College of New York 160 Convent Ave 212 650 6900 www.adhatccny.org


Classical Theatre of Harlem 566 W 159th St, #44 347 688 6304 www.classicaltheatreofharlem.org


Dance Theatre of Harlem 466 W 152nd St 212 690 2800 www.dancetheatreofharlem.org


Harlem Stage 150 Convent Ave 212 281 9240 www.harlemstage.org


Mama Foundation for the Arts 149 W 126th St 212 280 1045 www.mamafoundation.org


National Black Theatre 2031 5th Ave 212 722 3800 www.nationalblacktheatre.org


New Heritage Theater Group 253 W 138th St 212 926 0104 www.newhertitagetheater.org

Movies/Film


ImageNation/Raw Space 2031 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 212 340 1874 www.imagenation.us

Theaters


Apollo Theater 253 W 125th St 212 531 5305 www.apollotheater.com


The Riverside Theatre 91 Claremont Ave 212 870 6784 www.trtnyc.org


HEAR 


Music


American Legion Post #398 248 W 132nd St Facebook


Jazzmobile 91 Claremont Ave 212 866 4900 www.jazzmobile.org


Showman’s Jazz Club 375 W 125th St 212 864 8941

Facebook


Sundae Sermon www.sundaesermon.com

SHOP 


Apparel/Accessories


Flamekeepers Hat Club

273 W 121st St 212 531 3542 www.flamekeepershatclub.com


Harlem Aesthetic www.shimoda-accessories.com


Harlem Haberdashery 245 Lenox Ave 646 707 0070 www.harlemhaberdashery.com


Harlem’s Heaven Boutique 2538 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 212 491 7706 www.harlemsheaven.com


Harlem Underground

2217 Frederick Douglass Blvd

212 222 4419

www.harlemunderground.com


Hats by Bunn 2283 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 212 694 3590 www.hatsbybunn.com


The Brownstone 24 E 125th St 212 996 7980 www.thebrownstonewoman.com

Beauty/Grooming


Bibi Salon 325 Lenox Ave Suite 2S 646 669 7511 www.bibisalonnyc.com


Big Russ Barbershop

2474 Frederick Douglass Blvd

Facebook


Brazilian Babes 2285 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 347 954 9994 www.brazilianbabesllc.com


Curly Textured Bar 115 Edgecombe Ave 917 261 6717 www.simpleebeautiful.com


Denny Moe’s 2496 Frederick Douglass Blvd 646 423 5981 www.dennymoe.com


Honey Salon 174 St Nicholas Ave 212 663 0100 www.honeysalonnyc.com


Levels 425 W 125th St 212 663 6144 www.levelsbarbershop.com


Opulence Waxing Spa 2130 Adam Clayton Powell Jr, Blvd Ste 115 917 999 5918 www.opulencewax.com


Children


Grandma’s Place 84 W 120th St 212 360 6776 www.grandmasplaceinharlem.com


Harlem Pediatric Associates 2256 2nd Ave 212 678 5437

Community


Boys & Girls Club of Harlem 521 W 145th St 212 283 6770 www.bgcharlem.org


SoHarlem Creative Outlet 1361 Amsterdam Ave, Ste 340 212 222 2792 www.soharlem.org

Flowers


Barbara’s Flowers 2522 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 234 3211 www.harlemflowers.com


Franz James Floral Boutique 2114 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 531 1400 www.fjfloral.com

Health/Fitness


Harlem Chi Community Acupuncture 360 W 125th St, 2nd Fl 212 280 7900 www.harlemchi.com


Harlem Cycle 2350 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 646 404 2891 www.harlem-cycle.com

Harlem Pilates

60 W 129th St

108 W 116th St www.harlempilates.com


JTW FIT 2235 Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Blvd 203 936-8326 www.getjtwfit.com


Home/Gifts


NiLu 191 Lenox Ave 646 964 4926 www.shopnilu.com


Yara Imports 2 W 125th St 212 289 3842 ww.yaraafricanfabrics.com

Services


Cohen’s Fashion Optical 86 W 125th St 212 996 2676 www.cohensfashionoptical.com


Comprehensive Dental Specialists, PC 45 W 132 St, Ste 1N 212 862 9600


Dr. Merrick’s Dental Studio 260 W 139th St 212 281 1283 www.drmerrickdds.com


Harlem Center for Aesthetic Dentistry 470 Lenox Ave, Suite 1D Lenox Terrace Apartments 347 894 5730 www.harlemdentistry.com


SCHOP! Personalized In-Home Food Service 917 689 7106 www.SCHOPnyc.com


Sudsy Water 2394 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 347 366 8079 www.sudsywater.com


Other


Cafe Melo By Dr Green (Event space) 345 Lenox Ave, New York, NY 10027 646 682 9093 www.drgreenharlem.com

Hempsville Harlem 2384 Adam Clayton Powell Jr Blvd www.hempsvilleharlem.com

Paint N Pour NYC 2080 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 203 4361 www.paintnpournyc.com

TASTE 


American



Chocolat Restaurant Lounge 2223 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 222 4545 www.chocolatharlem.com


Field Trip 109 Lenox Ave 917 639 3919 www.fieldtripnyc.com


Greedy Pot 1944 Adam Clayton Powell Jr, Blvd 917 675 7676 www.facebook.com/greedypot1


Lolo’s Seafood Shack 303 W 116th St 646 649 3356 www.lolosseafoodshack.com


Melba’s 300 W 114th St 212 864 7777 www.melbasrestaurant.com


Red Rooster/Ginny’s Supper Club 310 Lenox Ave 212 792 9001 www.redroosterharlem.com


Renaissance 2245 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 646 838 7604 www.renaissance-harlem.com


Reverence 2592 Frederick Douglass Blvd reverence.nyc


Spudz French Fry Shop

2046 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd

646 386 7799

www.spudznyc.com


The Row 2374 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 646 767 9582 www.therowharlem.com

Bakery

Lee Lee’s Bakery 283 W 118th St 917 493 6633 www.leeleesrugelach.com


Make My Cake Coffee Shop & Bakehouse

409 W 125th

212 932 0833 www.makemycake.com


Ma Smith’s Dessert Cafe 2380 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 212 234 2344 www.masmithsdessertcafe.com


Sweet Chef Southern Style Bakery 122 Hamilton Pl 212 862 5909

Bars/Lounges/Pubs


67 Orange Street 2082 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 662 2030 www.67orangestreet.com


Cove Lounge 325 Lenox Ave 212 665 3455 www.covelounge.com


Harlem Hookah 381 Lenox Ave www.harlemhookah.com


Harlem Hops 2268 Adam Clayton Powell Jr, Blvd 646 998 3444 www.harlemhops.com


Hexagon Lounge 318 W 142nd St

Facebook


Caribbean


Bubblin Pot

2308 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd

646 930 2136

Harlemwood

333 Lenox Ave

917 858 3049


Kingston Bakery Harlem

344 W 145th St

917 409 1731

www.kingstonbakeryharlem.com


Sisters Cuisine 47 E 124th St www.sisterscuisineharlem.com


Patrick’s Place 2835 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 491 7800 www.patricksplaceharlem.com


The Edge 101 Edgecombe Ave 212 939 9688 www.edgecafeharlem.com

Coffee/Tea/Cafe


Avrilililly’s

1610 Amsterdam Ave

917 265 8449

www.avrililillys.com


Ginjan Café 85 E 125th St www.drinkginjan.com


Harlem Cafe

2259 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd

646 678 4617

www.harlemcafenyc.com


Harlem Chocolate Factory 2363 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 646 922 8816 www.harlemchocolatefactory.com


I Like it Black

409 W 125th St

929 532 2253

i-like-it-black-coffee-shop.square.site


NBHD Brulee 2620 Frederick Douglass Blvd www.nbhdbrulee.com


Plowshares Coffee Roasters 1351 Amsterdam Ave 646 755 8667 www.plowsharescoffee.com


Serengeti Kitchen www.serengetikitchen.com


Sugarhill Creamery 184 Lenox Ave 3629 Broadway 212 634 9004 www.sugarhillcreamery.com

Fast Bites


Devin’s Fish & Chips 747 Saint Nicholas Ave www.devins-fish-chips.com


Famous Fish Market 684 St Nicholas Ave 212 491 8323

www.famousfishmarketnyc.com


Harlem Seafood Soul (Food Truck) NE Corner of W 125th St & Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd Instagram


Health Station- Food truck

Truck stationed on 139th St (Lenox Ave)

347 634 5104

www.healthstation.com


Jacob Soul Food Restaurant and Salad Bar

373 Lenox Avenue

2695 Frederick Douglass Blvd

www.jacobrestaurant.com


Lighthouse Fish Market 2451 Frederick Douglass Blvd www.lighthousefishmarket.com


Spudz French Fry Shop

2046 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd

646 386 7799

www.spudznyc.com


Ethiopian


Abyssinia 268 W 135th St 212 281 2673 www.abyssinianyc.com


Lalibela

2084 Frederick Douglass Blvd

917 409 1609

Massawa 1239 Amsterdam Ave 212 663 0505 www.massawanyc.com


Tsion Cafe 763 St. Nicholas Avenue 212 234 2070 www.tsioncafe.com


French


Crepe Master 139 W 116th St 646 559 9224 www.crepemasternyc.com


Harlem Cafe

2259 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd

646 678 4617

www.harlemcafenyc.com


Yatenga French Bistro & Bar‎ 2269 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 212 690 0699‎ www.yatengabistro.com

Italian


Ristorante Settepani 196 Lenox Ave 917 492 4806 www.settepani.com


Vinateria 2211 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 662 8462 www.vinaterianyc.com

Latin


Amor Cubano 2018 3rd Ave 212 996 1220 www.amorcubanorestaurant.com

Floridita 2276 12th Ave 212 662 0090 www.floriditanyc.com


Sexy Taco

2340 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd

646 454 9899

www.sexytaconyc.com


Senegalese


Africa Kine Restaurant 2269 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 212 666 9400 www.africakine.com


Patisserie Des Ambassades 2200 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 666 0078


Ponty Bistro 2375 Adam Clayton Powell, Jr Blvd 212 234 6475 www.pontybistroharlem.com


Teranga 1280 5th Ave www.itsteranga.com

Somalian


Safari 219 W 116th St 646 964 4252 www.safariharlem.com

Southern/Soul

BLVD Bistro 2149 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 678 6200 www.blvdbistrony.com


Charles Pan Fried Chicken 340 W 145th St 212 281 1800

www.charlespanfriedchicken.com


Harlem Biscuit Company 2082 Frederick Douglass Blvd 929 390 1472 www.harlembiscuitcompany.com


Londel’s Supper Club 2620 Frederick Douglass Blvd 212 234 6114 www.londelsrestaurant.com


Melba’s

300 W 114th St

212 864 7777 www.melbasrestaurant.com


Miss Maude’s Spoonbread 366 W 110th St 212 865 6744 www.spoonbreadinc.com


Sylvia’s 328 Lenox Ave 212 996 0660 www.sylviasrestaurant.com

Vegetarian


Mad Juicy Juice Bar

100 W 139th St

917 409 1501

madjuicy.shop


New Life Juice Bar

2494 Frederick Douglass Blvd

646 882 0071

www.newlifejuicebarandlounge.com


Seasoned Veg 55 St Nicholas Ave 212 222 0092 www.seasonedvegan.com


Slutty Vegan

Coming soon!


Uptown Juice Bar 54 E 125th St 212 987 2660 Facebook


Uptown Veg II

349 Lenox Ave

646 590 0308

Facebook


Vegan Hood

2100 Frederick Douglass Blvd

917 265 8172

www.veganhood.net


71 views